Exemptions from Jury Service Page 1.

You are not required to claim an exemption from jury service.

However, you may choose to be excused if you:

- Are over 70 years of age (You may also request a permanent age 70 exemption.);
- Have legal custody of a child younger than 12 years of age and your service on the jury requires leaving the child without adequate supervision;
- Are a student of a public or private secondary school;
- Are a person enrolled and in actual attendance at an institution of higher education;
- Are an officer or an employee of the senate, house of representatives, or any department, commission, board, office, or other agency in the legislative branch of government;
- Are the primary caretaker of a person who is unable to care for himself or herself (This exemption does not apply to health care workers.);
- You are a member of the United States Military Forces serving on active duty and deployed to a location away from your home station and out of your county of residence.

(Texas Government Code § 62.106. Exemption from Jury Service)

You must follow the instructions on your jury summons or contact the judge to find out what you need to do to be exempted from jury service.

Exemptions from Jury Service Page 2.

Exemption for Physical or Mental Impairments or Inability to Comprehend English

A district court judge may permanently or temporarily exempt from jury service a person with a physical or mental impairment or with an inability to comprehend or communicate in the English language that makes it impossible or very difficult to serve on a jury. You need to contact the judge or the court to be exempted on this basis.

(Texas Government Code § 62.109)

Excuse of Juror for Religious Holiday

A prospective juror must be released entirely or rescheduled if the juror is required to appear in court on a religious holy day that is observed by the juror. You need to contact the judge or the court to be excused on this basis.

(Texas Government Code § 62.112)

Hardship Excuses

The judge may give you an opportunity to discuss any individual personal hardships that jury service may cause to you. The court has the discretion to hear any reasonable sworn excuse of a prospective juror and either release the juror from jury service or reschedule the juror's jury service for another day. However, the court may not excuse a juror for an economic reason unless each party of record is present and approves the release. Listen for the judge to give you instructions about when to come forward to discuss your need to be excused based on some hardship.

(Texas Government Code § 62.110)

Failure to Attend Court/Filing a False Exemption

- A juror who is lawfully notified to attend court is subject to a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 if that juror either:
- fails to attend court in obedience to the notice without a reasonable excuse; or
- Files a false claim of exemption from jury service.

(Texas Gov't Code § 62.111. Penalty for Defaulting Jurors.)